An Interview with Nicole Cooper – TV Host and Private Chef

Image

Background

Nicole Cooper is the host of the TV web series,  A Taste of Nicole.  Nicole’s love of cooking was inherited from her mother at an early age. In 2001, she expanded her career in culinary arts by apprenticing in  New York City with highly trained chefs, who mentored her in classical cooking techniques.  Through hard work and determination, she became involved with the James Beard Foundation as a chef’s assistant. Nicole’s service with the James Beard Foundation provided unparalleled opportunities to work alongside  celebrity  chefs Michael Chiarello, Marcus Samuelsson and Giada DeLaurentiis, too name a few.

Prior to her career in the culinary arts, Nicole worked professionally as a performing artist in Europe and the United States.  Her performing arts credits include Grease das Musical, Jesus Christ Super Star, Porgy and Bess and Hercules. Nicole holds a BS degree  in Speech Communications and Theatre from Murray State University.

Interview

1.  Where did your passion for cooking come from?

My passion for cooking was ignited early …  when my Grandmother would cook breakfast for me and my sister.  Food nourishes my soul.  It’s my gateway to connectedness with family.

 2.  What advice would you give someone who is terrified by cooking?

One step at a time!  Do it anyway!!

3. What dinner would you prepare for the President of the United States? 

My favorite … Chicken Pot Pie with juicy shredded pulled chicken, sweet peas, pearl onions, and diced carrots with white wine and thyme.  For dessert … Bourbon Bread Pudding with a dollop of homemade whipped cream.

4. What do you hope to accomplish in your career in the next five years?

Developing and launching healthy cooking demonstration workshops in NYC public schools and further development of my pilot TV web series,  A Taste of Nicole,  with the goal of getting the series aired on the Discovery Cooking Channel.

5. What are five things no one knows about you?

Humm… Don’t laugh!  1) I love the WWF (wrestling).  2) I like fried chicken wings.  3) I love whipped cream on almost everything sweet.  4) I start celebrating Halloween at the end of  September.  5) I love the SYFY and Hallmark channels.

6. What’s the most important thing you’ve done but initially wanted to avoid?

 The Landmark Management Team Leadership Program. Very confronting.

7. What’s the most exciting thing happening for you right now?

I’m challenging myself with a personal development game called “Having it All.”  The aim is  to push beyond what I know and more often override fears that impede personal growth.

