Turkey Chili and Spicy Cilantro Cornbread

New Picture (2)

I recently made this hearty fall chili for my husband and myself.  I usually make turkey chili without spaghetti, but decided to try my mother’s version, which includes spaghetti. It was super delicious!  From now on, I’ll put a little spaghetti in my chili…it’s a total bump up!

Tip: Make the chili and cornbread at the same time. Start on the chili first, cooking the meat.

Turkey Chili

Ingredients:

1 pack ground turkey meat

2 cans of Amy’s medium chili bean

2 cans organic crushed tomatoes

3 tbsp dried cilantro

2 tbsp black pepper

Salt to taste

½ box spaghetti (I use quinoa spaghetti noodles, it’s easier on your waist)

4 cloves of garlic

1 small red onion

2/3 tbsp virgin olive oil

Directions:

1. Heat olive oil with garlic and onion in large pan (Dutch oven if available)

2. Boil water for pasta, and then cook pasta

3. Cook ground turkey meat

4. Once meat is cooked, add Amy’s medium chili bean and crushed tomatoes

5. Add cilantro, salt and pepper

6. Add spaghetti

7. Stir all ingredients together and let simmer on low

8. Remove from heat; let the chili sit for 3 minutes and enjoy

Spicy Cilantro Cornbread

Ingredients:

1 cup cornmeal

1 cup flour (any flour ok, I use almond flour)

1 cup milk

1 tbsp baking powder

4 tsp salt

1/3 cup vegetable oil

1 large egg

2 tbsp dried cilantro

2 tbsp red pepper flakes

Optional: sugar 1/2 cup, which I omitted. If you like your cornbread sweet, add the sugar

Directions:

1. Mix all the dry ingredients first

2. Beat egg and add

3. Add milk and oil

3, Mix everything together

4. Pour into a 10 or 12 inch greased pan

5. Bake 400 degrees for 20-25 minutes

6. Let sit for 3 minutes, add butter on top

I hope you enjoy this wonderful hearty fall dish as much as we did.  If you decided to make it, please share tips and photos.

HAPPY FALL EATING!

